Orient Line’s Oriana of 1960

On the same day in 1974 when I saw the Pretoria Castle in Southampton harbour I saw an

oriana-2old favourite in the distance and took this photo using a telephoto lens. She was built in 1960 for Orient Line and originally had a corn coloured hull. Here she is in the Suez Canal.

oriana-in-the-suez-canal

After the merger of P&O-Orient Lines she was painted with a white hull and I first saw her here in Aden in June 1965. We had just arrived out there for my father’s 2 year posting and when I saw the ships I couldn’t wait to go past Steamer Point every day to see what surprise was awaiting me

oriana

It didn’t matter that I couldn’t get her all the photo as I was so close. Some ship enthusiasts have been unkind about her profile but she was unique, fascinating and she had a huge fan base. I loved her.

As some of the P&O fleet were being withdrawn, she was converted to a one class cruise ship in 1974 and then she operated out of Sydney from 1981 to 1986. She was sold and went to Osaka in Japan to be a hotel, then a museum at Beppu until being sold to China in 1995. She became a hotel and tourist attraction in Shanghai until 2002 then was moved to Dalian. In 2004 Oriana was damaged in a typhoon and leaned over severely. She was beyond economic repair and was broken up in China in 2005 aged 45 – what a great innings.

I have great affection for the P&O-Orient Liners and will feature them all here in the new year.

This entry was posted in Aden, China, Cruise ship, Emigrant Ship, Japan, Oriana, Orient Line, Orient Steam Navigation Company, P&O Line, P&O-Orient Line, passenger liner, Scrapped, Southampton, Suez Canal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orient Line’s Oriana of 1960

    • donships says:

      Thanks for your comment. I used to provide histories to genealogists since 1999 but they are now freely available on the internet. I’ve recently compiled them in a 200 page volume and each vessel is linked to a website – either on its history or for ships in service – to its current position via Marine Traffic

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

